Read the latest news about 
opportunities, announcements, auditions and much more 

NEWS

ELIOT SMITH DANCE IS HOLDING AN ONLINE AUDITION FOR APPRENTICE DANCER 2021
Date posted - 19/01/2021
Eliot Smith Dance (ESD) is offering an opportunity for one outstanding dancer (21-30 years old) open to diverse male and female, who can demonstrate high levels of commitment, enthusiasm for Eliot Smith’s work and exceptional talent in Contemporary and Ballet technique to join ESD’s independent apprentice programme starting in Spring 2021.
 
This is an exciting offer for a dancer to work with ESD on an intensive programme which will include three weeks rehearsals and two performances in the North East of England, as well as opportunities to be involved with the delivery of ESD’s wide and varied participation programme throughout 2021.
 
Dancers must live and work in the UK in order to participate.
 
We encourage applications from dancers who self-identify as black, Asian, minority ethnic, lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer, or disabled and dancers living in the North East of England.
 
Where: Newcastle upon Tyne (UK) – audition online via Zoom and is by invitation only.
 
When: Sunday 21 February 2021 at Midday until 5pm 
 
Deadline for applications: Thursday 18 February 2021 at Midday
 
Fee: Apprentice Dancers will be paid an apprentice salary of £360 per week, plus travel / per diems.
 
How to apply / register: To apply, please send your CV and a link to your dance showreel to info@eliotsmithdance.com
 
Costs for participants: Audition is free
Contact details: info@eliotsmithdance.com
JOB DESCRIPTION
ELIOT SMITH DANCE ANNOUNCES NEW VIRTUAL PROGRAMME FOR 2021
Date posted - 11/01/2021
Following on from the success of the ESD DIGITAL platform launched in light of the pandemic in early 2020, the new VIRTUAL ESD programming allows audiences to have a front-row seat to experience “all things ESD” from the comfort of their own home.
For a one-off £10 subscription audiences will have exclusive on-line access to the full content of VIRTUAL ESD. This will allow them to either experience for the first time or revisit some of ESD's newest virtual dance works, including the critically acclaimed Seacole + Nightingale documentary, ESD’s recent Virtual Triple Bill, and “At Home Creates”. Also available to subscribers will be a monthly Zoom Q&A session with ESD dancers, on-line classes, access to Company archives, and much more.

To find out more and to access to this exclusive content click here>
PRESS RELEASE
WE STAND TO DENOUNCE RACISM IN ALL ITS FORMS
Date posted - 04/06/2020
 
We stand to denounce racism in all its forms.
We, the undersigned from the cultural sector of the North East, declare that silence is not ok and silence is seen as complicity. Racism has no place in a just and humane society.
Whilst we cannot undo pain and neglect, we are calling on all of us in the arts, cultural, heritage sectors; professional and voluntary to work together to address racism and its deep roots. We must listen, have conversations and most importantly act, we know we need to do better. Everyone is part of the solution - artists, staff, trustees, partners, promoters, audiences and communities.
We want to tackle this together in sharing better understanding and practices. We stand united to bring about change in our thinking and actions as a collective of organisations and individuals.
In the weeks and months to come we will collectively act to build on this statement with concrete steps and actions to demonstrate our commitment to bringing about real change. We ask you to stand with us.
We contacted as many organisations and individuals we could in a short space of time.
If you would like to join us in these future conversations please contact any of the points of contacts listed below:
Alphabetti Theatre
Signee: Ali Pritchard, Artistic/Executive Director
Contact: Ali Pritchard, ali@alphabettitheatre.co.uk
The Angelou Centre
Signee: Rosie Lewis, Deputy Director & VAWG Services Manager
Anna Robinson

Sceneographer
Contact: anna.fkrobinson@gmail.com
ARC Stockton
Signee: Annalbel Turpin
Contact: Annabel.Turpin@arconline.co.uk
Assembly Rooms Theatre Durham
Signee: Kate Barton
Contact: theatre.manager@durham.ac.uk
BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art
Signee: Sarah Munro, Director
Contact: Caroline Murphy, carolinem@balticmill.com
Ben Dickenson
Contact: benji.dickenson@gmail.com
Executive Producer, City of Dreams / Associate Literary Producer Alphabetti
Beverley Prevatt Goldstein
Contact: beverleyprevattgoldstein@gmail.com
Camisado Club
Signee: Caroline Liversidge, Camisado Club
Contact: info@camisadoclub.co.uk
Centre for Life, Newcastle
Signee: Linda Conlon
Contact: Louise Richardson, louise.richardson@life.org.uk
Company of Others
Signee: Nadia Iftkhar, Artistic Director & CEO
Contact: Nadia Iftkhar, nadia@companyofothers.org.uk
Curious Arts
Signee: Phil Douglas, Director
Contact: Ellie Puckering, ellie@curiousarts.org.uk
Curious Monkey
Signee: Amy Golding
Contact: amy@curiousmonkeytheatre.com
Creative Seed
Contact: Sandy and Garner Harris, Founding Directors
Dance City
Signee: Phil Douglas
Contact: Phil Douglas, phil.douglas@dancecity.co.uk
Degna Stone
Poet and editor
Disconsortia
Signee: Lisette Auton, Co-founding Member
Contact: disconsortia@gmail.com
Eliot Smith Dance (ESD)
Signee: Eliot Smith, Artistic Director
Contact: eliot@eliotsmithdance.com
Gateway Studio CIO
Signee: Martin Hylton, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: Martin Hylton, martin.hylton@gatewaystudioproject.co.uk
GemArts
Signee: Vikas Kumar MBE, Director
Contact: Vikas Kumar, vikas@gemarts.org
Gobscure
Signee: Sean Burn
Contact: gobscure@posteo.net
Harambee Pasadia CIC
Signee: Hannabiell Sanders
Contact: Hannabiell Sanders, harambeepasadia@gmail.com
Kitchen Zoo
Signee: Bob Nicholson
Contact: info.kitchenzoo@gmail.com
Ladies of Midnight Blue
Signee: Yilis Suriel
Contact: Yilis Suriel, yilissuriel@gmail.com
The Letter Room
Signees: Meghan Doyle and Stan Hodgson, Co-Artistic Directors
Contact: info@theletterroomtheatre.co.uk
Little Cog
Signee: Vici Wreford-Sinnott, Artistic Director
Contact: littlecog@rocketmail.com
Live Theatre
Signee: Jim Beirne, Chief Executive
Contact: joe@live.org.uk
Mortal Fools
Signee: Kiz Crosbie, Artistic Director/CEO
Contact: kiz@mortalfools.org.uk
The NewBridge Project
Signee: Rebecca Huggan, Director
Contact: r.huggan@thenewbridgeproject.com
New Writing North
Claire Malcolm, Chief Executive
Contact: Claire Malcolm, office@newwritingnorth.com
Newcastle City Council Arts Team
Signee: Cllr Ged Bell (Cabinet Member for Culture)
Contact: Jim Mawdsley, Arts and Culture Senior Advisor, Jim.Mawdsley@newcastle.gov.uk
Newcastle Theatre Royal
Signee: Philip Bernays, Chief Executive
Newcastle University
Signee: Professor Julie Sanders, Deputy Vice-Chancellor
Contact: Julie.sanders@ncl.ac.uk
Northern Roots
Signee: Adam Collerton, Director
Contact: adam@northern-roots.org.uk
Northern Stage
Signee: Kate Denby, Executive Director
Contact: Mark Calvert, MCalvert@northernstage.co.uk
OGRE
Contact: Steven Walker, Creative Director
Open Clasp
Signees: Joint Chief Executives Catrina McHugh MBE / Ellie Turner
Contacts: catrina@openclasp.org.uk, ellie@openclasp.org.uk
Origin Moko Jumbies
Signee: Alan Vaughan
Contact: alanpvaughan@gmail.com
Sage Gateshead
Signee: Abigail Pogson, Director
Contact: Wendy Smith, wendy.smith@sagegateshead.com
Sangini
Signee: Padma Rao
Seven Stories
Signee: John Coburn
Contact: Amanda Beckham, amanda.beckham@sevenstories.org.uk
Skimstone Arts
Signee: Claire Webster-Saaramets, Director
Contact: Claire Webster-Saaramets, claire@skimstone.org.uk
Slugtown
Signees: Max Lee and Matt Antoniakd, Co-directors
Sunderland Music Hub
Signee: Lizzie Nixon
Contact: sunderland.music@togetherforchildren.org.uk
Susan Ashley
AHRC Researcher
Contact: susan.ashley@northumbria.ac.uk
Prometheus Foundation CIC
Contact: Dot Owston
Tyneside Cinema
Signee: Holli Keeble, Chief Executive Officer
Contact: Holli Keeble, Holli.Keeble@tynesidecinema.co.uk
Tyne & Wear Archives & Museums
Signee: Iain Watson, Director
Contact: Bill Griffiths, bill.griffiths@twmuseums.org.uk
Tyne and Wear Cultural Freelancers
Signee: Leila d’Aronville
Contact: Leila d’Aronville, Leila.daronville@gmail.com
Unfolding Theatre
Signees: Michael Barrass, Alex Elliott, Garry Lydon, Annie Rigby and Luca Rutherford
Contact: annie@unfoldingtheatre.co.uk
VAMOS!
Signee: Nikolas Barrera
Contact: nikolasbarrera@gmail.com
Voices of Virtue Gospel Choir
Signees: Mathapelo Imarhiagbe, Chinyere Igun, Glen Smiley
We Make Culture CIC
Signee: Laura Brewis, Project Director
Contact: laura@wemakeculture.co.uk
ESD PRESENTS: MARTHA GRAHAM POSTPONED
Date posted - 17/04/2020
As a result of the evolving Covid-19 situation, and following the Government's guidelines and working with the rolling advice from Public Health England and other organisations, it is no longer possible for Eliot Smith Dance (ESD) to hold ESD Presents: Martha Graham on 27 July - 1 August 2020.

The safety and wellbeing of our artists, staff, participants, audience, and partners is of the utmost importance at Eliot Smith Dance.

ESD are now looking to reschedule the event next year on 26 - 31 July 2021. More details will be announced in early spring 2021. 

All participants will of course be entitled to a full refund and you will be contacted directly by ESD.

Thank you for your ongoing support and please take care. ESD looks forward to presenting Martha Graham in the very near future.
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram

Eliot Smith Dance,

2 Lansdowne Place, Ground Floor,

Gosforth, 

Newcastle upon Tyne,

NE3 1HR

Eliot Smith Dance is a trading name of Eliot Smith Company Ltd,

a not for profit company limited by guarantee.

Registered in England in Wales. Company No. 9442391

© 2021 Eliot Smith Dance

T&C - Privacy Policy